top of page

Cara (Co-op Teacher)

"I’ve always lived in Urbana since moving here to attend the U of I in 2014, so the Co-op has always been there within reach. For me it is a very accessible place for all things food-wise, particularly really interesting wines, locally roasted coffee, etc.


The Co-op offers a lot of options for shopping wisely and consciously when I have the budget, and for someone with a degree in Food Science I can really spend an hour in the little shop to just look at what’s new in the market, and new certification programs like Bird-Friendly coffees! But the reason why the Co-op is truly special for me is its central role in the community, you don’t have to be a shopper to be attracted to this place; all sorts of events, the classroom, the bulletin board, the student days, and the most beautiful of all - the Roundup for Good program - bring all facets of Urbana together.


My time in Urbana is coming to an end. There’s so much appreciation for what I’ve learned being part of the community here, and the Co-op has been a big part of that experience."


bottom of page